Federal Ministry of Education and Research Preview
Infozentrum Wasserbau

Project Activities

Smart Rivers conference at Lyon

At the PIANC Smart Rivers Conference 2019 from September 30 to October 3, 2019, parts of the project were presented to international experts from planners, operators and users of waterways worldwide.

The Federal Waterway Engineering and Research Institute (BAW) presented current developments concerning the risk mapping of the waterway network as well as the evaluation of consequences for shipping. The Karlsruhe University of Applied Sciences (HsKA) presented the concept of structural robustness, which is also used in the project for the vulnerability of the waterway infrastructure.

Numerous discussions with international waterway network operators, e.g. Voies navigables de France (VNF), United States Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) and the Austrian VIADONAU, as well as infrastructure management planners, shared their experiences and provided valuable impetus for the development of PREVIEW.

Expert workshop

At the beginning of April 2019, the first expert workshop within the framework of the PREVIEW project took place with experts from science and industry. A particular focus was placed on the validation and development of the scenarios to be developed in the project.

Excursion to the West German canal network

In March 2019, the project partners travelled to the model region to the West German canal network. The three-day excursion started at the remote control centre (Fernsteuerzentrale) in Datteln, which is responsible for the management of the canal network. Afterwards the inspection of different buildings along the sewer network took place.

After visiting the Lippe canal bridge near Olfen, the programme included culverts and a trip over the high dam section along the Rhine-Herne Canal. In addition, several sluices were inspected, including the drained sluice in Oberhausen (see picture). The project partners also inspected the Ruhr weir in Duisburg and a feed pump station.

During the inspections, talks were held with responsible persons, which represent an important input for further project work. In addition to the information and contacts relevant to the structure, the foundation stones for the economic consideration and criticality of the PREVIEW project were laid during a visit to the Marl Chemical Park and, in particular, to the company's own port facilities.

Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung Preview
Infozentrum Wasserbau

Projektaktivitäten

Smart Rivers Konferenz in Lyon

Auf der PIANC Smart Rivers Conference 2019 vom 30. September bis 3. Oktober 2019 wurde Teile des Projektes der internationalen Fachwelt aus Planern, Betreibern und Nutzern von Wasserstraßen weltweit vorgestellt.

Die Bundesanstalt für Wasserbau (BAW) präsentierte aktuelle Entwicklungen bzgl. der Risikokartierung des Wasserstraßennetzes sowie der Bewertung von Ausfallfolgen für die Schifffahrt. Seitens der Hochschule Karlsruhe (HsKA) wurde das Bewertungskonzept der Bauwerksrobustheit vorgestellt, welches im Projekt auch für die Vulnerabilität der Wasserstraßeninfrastruktur Anwendung findet.

Zahlreiche Diskussionen mit internationalen Wasserstraßen-Netzbetreibern, wie z.B. Voies navigables de France (VNF), United States Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) und der österreichischen VIADONAU, sowie Planern im Infrastrukturmanagement dienten dem Erfahrungsaustausch und gaben wertvolle Impulse für die Entwicklungen von PREVIEW.

Expertenworkshop

Anfang April 2019 fand der erste Expertenworkshop im Rahmen des PREVIEW-Projektes mit Experten aus Behörden, Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft statt. Besonderer Fokus lag auf der Validierung und Bildung der im Projekt zu erarbeitenden Szenarien.

Exkursion an das Westdeutsche Kanalnetz

Im März 2019 reisten die Projektpartner gemeinsam in die Modellregion an das Westdeutsche Kanalnetz. Die dreitägige Exkursion startete in der Fernsteuerzentrale in Datteln, welche für die Bewirtschaftung des Kanalnetzes verantwortlich ist. Anschließend erfolgte die Begehung verschiedenster Bauwerke entlang des Kanalnetzes.

Nach der Besichtigung der Kanalbrücke Lippe bei Olfen standen Düker, Durchlässe sowie eine Fahrt über die hohe Dammstrecke entlang des Rhein-Herne-Kanals auf der Agenda. Darüber hinaus erfolgte die Begehung einiger Schleusen, darunter auch die trockengelegte Schleuse Oberhausen (siehe Bild). Des Weiteren konnten die Projektpartner das Ruhrwehr in Duisburg sowie ein Speisungspumpwerk begehen.

Im Rahmen der Begehungen wurden Gespräche mit den Verantwortlichen geführt, die einen wichtigen Input für die weitere Projektarbeit darstellen. Neben den bauwerklich relevanten Informationen und Kontakten wurden im Rahmen einer Besichtigung des Chemieparks Marl und insbesondere der betriebseigenen Hafenanlage die Grundsteine zum Einbezug der ökonomischen Betrachtung und Kritikalität des PREVIEW-Projektes gelegt.